On March 17, 2022, Miami-Dade County, Mayor Daniella Levine Cava, signed a new measure which aims to help Miami renters affected by the growing affordable housing crisis. Generally, residential landlord tenant relations are governed by state law under Chapter 83 of the Florida Statutes, known as “Florida Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.” However local government do have some authority to enact local ordinances to further regulate landlord-tenant activity, within the bounds of state law.
The new ordinance requires that landlords give tenants 60 days’ notice if they intend to increase rent more that 5%. This applies both to month-to-month rentals as well as rentals with a fixed duration. This new ordinance does not change the fact that rent for rentals with a fixed term may not be terminated until the end of the term, instead this new ordinance requires that the landlord give its tenant 60-day notice if the rent will increase more than 5% for the new term.
The ordinance also requires landlords who rent their property on a month-to-month basis to give 60 days’ notice before termination of the tenancy. This is double the time allowed prior to the inaction of this ordinance.
Both tenants and landlords alike need to be aware of their rights and obligations under this new measure. An experienced attorney can help explain your rights under the law and under any lease. The Law Office of Robert N. Pelier, P.A. has decades of experience in civil law in South Florida and will work tirelessly on your behalf.